HOW TO: Deactivate a Serial Number ?

Note that the examples given here are used with MovieRecorder but are valid for all Softron applications using serial numbers.

You can deactivate a serial number from the "Licenses window".

To open the Licenses window, select the menu MovieRecorder > License

License_LicenseMenuMR.png

 

You will have 2 choices of deactivation:

  • deactivate via internet (this is the recommended way if it is possible)
  • deactivate manually (to do only if you can't do it "via internet)

 

Deactivate via internet

Deactivating via internet is the easiest way, but it may not be available to you.If the button remains greyed out, check the possible causes in this article.

License_Deactivate_ApplicationActivated.png

To deactivate via internet, just click on the "Deactivate via internet..." button and you should get a warning to confirm that you want to deactivate:

License_Deactivate_Warning.png

Click on proceed, you will be asked for an admin password:

License_EnterPassword.png

If you entered it correctly and click on OK, you should see the following confirmation window, with the option to "Clear Serial Numbers":

You can now use your license on another computer or proceed with your system update.

 

About the "Clear Serial Numbers" option

  • enable the option to "Clear Serial Numbers" if you want to clean the license window, so the serials are not there anymore. This is useful if for example you move from a temporary serial number to a permanent one, or want to replace the current serial with another. 
  • disable the option to "Clear Serial Numbers" if you are moving your license from one computer to another, so it is always there and you just have to activate and deactivate it from different computers.

 

What if the deactivation fails ?

If you have a message that the deactivation failed, check the possible causes of a failed deactivation. And in any case pay attention to what you do as we can't deactivate the serial number ourself, so if you have any doubt get in touch with our support desk.

 

Deactivate manually

Follow the procedure below if the button "Deactivate via internet..." is greyed out,  check the possible reasons why you can't deactivate via internet.

 

1. Deactivate the serial numbers on the computer

  • Click on the "Deactivate manually..." button. This window will open:

License_Deactivate_Warning.png

  • Click on "Proceed" to confirm that you want to deactivate.

 

  • IMPORTANT WARNING!!! : Once you click on "Proceed", you will not be able to use your license again if you do not send us the activation and deactivation code, so be sure to follow the step number 2: send us your deactivation codes.

.License_Deactivate_ManualDeactivation.png

  • Copy/paste the activation and deactivation codes to a text file
  • Copy this text file to a USB key
  • Click on OK only once you have copied the codes. This window will show up:

 

About the "Clear Serial Numbers" option

  • enable the option to "Clear Serial Numbers" if you want to clean the license window, so the serials are not there anymore. This is useful if for example you move from a temporary serial number to a permanent one, or want to replace the current serial with another. 
  • disable the option to "Clear Serial Numbers" if you are moving your license from one computer to another, so it is always there and you just have to activate and deactivate it from different computers.

 

What if the deactivation fails ?

If you have a message that the deactivation failed, check the possible causes of a failed deactivation. And in any case pay attention to what you do as we can't deactivate the serial number ourself, so if you have any doubt get in touch with our support desk.

 

2. Send us your deactivation codes

As soon as you have clicked on "Proceed", your application is in DEMO mode. But as you did a manual deactivation, there is one more step = send us the deactivation codes via the website! If you do not send us your deactivation codes, your license will still be considered as activated on our servers, you won't be able to activate it on another computer and there is no way for us to deactivate it for you.

 

  • Click on the "Deactivate" link.
  • Enter the Activation and deactivation codes that you have written down or copied on a USB key (use copy/paste to avoid mistakes).

 

  • If you forgot to write down the activation and deactivation code, there is a way to retrieve them on your computer provided you didn't wipe the hard drive of course. 
  • Click on "Deactivate"
  • Once you see the following confirmation of deactivation on the webpage, the deactivation process is complete.

 

  • But if you see the following page, the deactivation process is not complete, and you should check the possible errors explained and try again.

 
 
 
If the manual deactivation fails, click here to check this article.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk